Infographic Template Galleries

Created with Fabric.js 1.4.5 Timeline Minor: End:1785 Confederation Of Seven Provinces "their Noble Mightinesses, the Lords States-General" OFFICIAL FUEDAL ORDER OF THE PROVINCES GUELDERS HOLLAND ZEELAND UTRECHT FRIESLAND OVERIJSSL GRONINGEN FUEDAL SCALE Basic Structure DUTCH GOLDEN AGE Governmental Structure Start:1579 United Provinces Though republic, the Dutch Golden Age was ruled at the city level by the regenten of each province. Comparable to ancient Roman patricians, the ruling class was not formally a caste system, but through contractual agreements they were able to propitiate a closed caste of hierarchy. Oligarchy: The United Provinces -Each province was allowed one vote in the States-General.-The representatives were appointed, not directly elected. -Representatives referred back to their provinces advice when voting on issues. -The provinces took turns serving as officer of the States-General. VOTING 1579- Independence from Spain declared. 1585- Provinces made English protectorates by Elizabeth I 1588- governor general Robert Dudley leaves after failing as governor general 1648- Peace of Westphalia recognizes Dutch Independence 1672- Orangist Revolution 1747- Orangist Revolution (round 2) 1785- Patriot Revolt House of Orange-Nassau Political Parties There were periodic power struggles between Orangists and Staatsgezinden. Orangists supported the House of Orange-Nassau, while Staatsgezinden wanted a true republic structure to replace the semi-hereditary structure they had. Several members of the house served as governor or stadtholder during the Dutch Republic. In 1815, after a long period as a republic, the Netherlandsbecame a monarchy under the House of Orange-Nassau.
Create Your Free Infographic!