Infographic Template Galleries

Created with Fabric.js 1.4.5 The Constitution The Constitution was created because the national government of the United States needed to be stronger. Before the Constitution was created, states had all of the power. The people of the United States knew there needed to be a stronger government because of rebellions and economic problems. The national government needed to be able to raise an army, collect taxes, print money, and set standards for the states. The Constitution changed the United States government into a republic because the power was given to the people and their representatives. It wasn't a democracy like today though because many framers of the Constitution accepted slavery (reluctantly). People had qualifications for voting based on property and some states didn't let people vote if they were part of a religious minority. Women also couldn't vote until the 19th amendment was passed in 1920. The Constitution organized the government into three branches: the legislative branch, the executive branch, and the judicial branch. The legislative branch consists of the Congress. They make the laws, the executive branch carries out the laws and consists of the president, and the judicial branch interprets the laws and is made up of courts. The Constitution created Federalism in the United States. It divided the power into two levels, the federal level and the state level. The federal government created laws that needed to be created for all of the states while the states made laws that only applied to their area in specific. Some laws are needed in all states but are not on a federal level. Therefore, states have their own individual laws on some subjects.
Create Your Free Infographic!