Infographic Template Galleries

Created with Fabric.js 1.4.5 Tyranny and the Constitution What is Tyranny? Tyranny is when a single person or group holds all the power over a group. The power can be in the hands of one person, a few people. A majority can also control a minority. How does the Constitution protect against Tyranny? The constitution has four ways of protecting against tyranny: Federalism, separation of powers, checks and balances, and Big States, Little States. Federalism The power is split between the states and the federal government. The federal government makes laws the concern the nation (declaring war, printing money, etc.) while the state governments control local issues (marriage and divorce, establish schools, etc.) Separation of Powers There are three separate branches of the U.S. government: Executive (president and cabinet), Legislative (Senate and House of Representatives), and Judicial (courts). If you are a member of one branch, you can NOT serve on another branch. Checks and Balances The U.S. has a system in place to keep each branch from overpowering each other. Executive: Can veto Congress's legislation, and nominate judges, Legislative: Can override executive's veto, remove president from office,approve president's nominations, and can impeach judges.Judicial: Can declare laws unconstitutional, and presidential acts unconstitutional. Large states and Small States There are two houses of representatives within Congress. The House of Representatives, and the Senate. In the House of Representatives, the number of representatives for a state is determined by population. In the Senate, each state has an equal number of representatives.
Create Your Free Infographic!